Skip to main content

Executive management

The Company has two principal committees. The Group Management Committee (GMC) is responsible for formulating strategy (for discussion and approval by the Board), monitoring performance and managing the Group's portfolio. The Executive Committee (ExCo) is responsible for developing and implementing Group-wide policies and programmes and for the adoption of best practice standards across the Group.

GMC and ExCo Members

Cynthia Carroll


53, was appointed chief executive on 1 March 2007, having joined the Board on 15 January 2007. Cynthia Carroll chairs the Group Management Committee (GMC) and the Executive Committee (ExCo) and sits on the S&SD Committee. She is the former president and chief executive officer of Alcan's Primary Metals Group and a former director of AngloGold Ashanti Limited and the Sara Lee Corporation. She is a non-executive director of BP plc, Anglo Platinum Limited and De Beers. Mrs Carroll is being proposed for re-election at the AGM on 22 April 2010.

René Médori

Doctorate in Economics

52, was appointed to the Board on 1 June 2005, becoming finance director on 1 September 2005. René Médori is a member of GMC and ExCo and chairman of the Investment Committee. He is a former finance director of The BOC Group plc and is a non-executive director of Scottish and Southern Energy plc, De Beers and Anglo Platinum Limited.

Brian Beamish

BSc (Mechanical Engineering)

53, is Group director mining and technology. He held the position of chief executive of Base Metals between 2007 and 2009 and has more than 30 years of mining industry experience in various commodities and geographies. He spent 20 years at Anglo Platinum, including four years as executive director, operations between 1996 and 1999.

Mervyn Walker

MA (Oxon)

50, is Group director of human resources and communications. He is a solicitor by training and joined Anglo American in 2008 from Mondi, where he was group HR and legal director. Mervyn Walker spent 19 years at British Airways, where he held a series of senior roles, including HR director, legal director, director of purchasing and director of UK airports. He is also non-executive chairman of pension schemes for AMEC plc.

David Weston

MBA, BSc (Eng)

51, is Group director business performance and projects. He spent 25 years with Shell and was president, Shell Canada Products before joining the Anglo American Group in 2006 as chief executive of Industrial Minerals (Tarmac). David Weston served as the Group's technical director between April and October 2009. He is also a non-executive director at International Power plc.

ExCo Members

Walter De Simoni

BSc (Mining Eng)

54, is CEO of Nickel. Walter De Simoni joined the Anglo American Group in 1978. He was appointed president of Anglo Base Metals Brazil in 2005. He became Anglo American Brazil CEO in 2006 and CEO of Nickel in October 2009.

Seamus French

B Eng (Chemical)

47, is CEO of Metallurgical Coal and joined the Group as regional CEO of Anglo Coal Australia in 2007. He was previously on the BHP Billiton Executive Committee as global vice-president business excellence from 2005.

Chris Griffith

B Eng (Mining) Hons, Pr Eng

44, is CEO of Kumba Iron Ore. He has been with Anglo American for almost two decades. He was Anglo Platinum's head of operations for joint ventures before being appointed CEO of Kumba Iron Ore in 2008.

John MacKenzie

M.Sc Eng, MBL

41, is CEO of Copper. He joined the Anglo American Gold and Uranium Division in January 1990 and was promoted to vice-president of Anglo Coal, South American Operations in 1999. In 2004, he became general manager of Base Metals' Minera Loma de Níquel operation in Venezuela. John MacKenzie was appointed CEO of Base Metals' Zinc operations in November 2006, becoming CEO of Copper in October 2009.

Norman Mbazima


51, is CEO of Thermal Coal. He joined the Anglo American Group in April, 2001, where he began his career at Konkola Copper Mines PLC. He was previously global chief financial officer for Anglo Coal and became executive director of finance at Anglo Platinum in June 2006, and later stepped in as joint acting chief executive. Norman Mbazima was appointed CEO of Scaw Metals in May 2008 and was appointed CEO of Thermal Coal in October 2009.

Neville Nicolau

BT (Mining Engineering), MBA

50, is CEO Platinum. He joined the Anglo American Group in January 1979, subsequently working in the Gold and Uranium Division at different managerial levels in all the major operating areas in South Africa. In 2000-2001, he was the technical director of AngloGold's South American operations, based in Brazil. He became chief operating officer (Africa) of AngloGold Ashanti in May 2004 and was appointed CEO of Anglo Platinum in June 2008.

Duncan Wanblad

BSc (Eng) Mech, GDE (Eng Management)

43, is Group director Other Mining and Industrial. He joined Johannesburg Consolidated Investment Company Limited in 1990. Duncan Wanblad was appointed to the board of Anglo Platinum and various of its subsidiaries in 2004 - becoming the executive director in charge of projects and engineering. He was appointed joint acting chief executive of Anglo Platinum in August 2007, before taking over as CEO copper operations of Anglo American in May 2008.

Stephan Weber


48, is CEO of Iron Ore Brazil. He worked for Rio Tinto from 2002 to 2008, serving on its Iron Ore Executive Committee from 2006 to 2008. Stephan Weber joined Anglo American in January 2009 as chief technical officer within Anglo Ferrous Metals and was appointed CEO of Iron Ore Brazil in October 2009.

Peter Whitcutt

BCom (Hons), CA (SA), MBA

44, is Group director strategy and business development. He joined Anglo American in 1990 within the Corporate Finance division. Peter Whitcutt worked on the merger of Minorco, the listing of Anglo American in 1999 and the subsequent unwinding of the cross-holding with De Beers. He was appointed chief financial officer of Base Metals in August 2008 and to his present position in October 2009.

Click images above to read biogs

Back to top

Annual Report 2009